h1

I went to an ale-house I used to frequent…

March 18, 2008

I went out last night for St Patrick’s… There is one Irish bar in Lima. It is owned by an Englishman and doesn’t serve any Guinness, Murpheys, Irish Whisky or Beamish. I’ve been once before. It’s usually full of Ex pat men drinking lager, and Peruanas trying to pull the Ex pat men. Last time I went I stood out a mile and got chatted up by a Serbian, called AK, who may be wanted for war crimes (someone said it as a joke, but I wasn’t so sure!).

irish-1.jpg

This time it wasn’t so bad as it was PACKED for St Patrick’s, with a very international crowd. In the spirit of the occasion they were adding green food colouring to the lager… that probably tells you all you need to know about the place, still the atmosphere was good! There were a couple of live bands (one of whom is made up mainly of staff from the school!) who were really good (much to my surprise!) and they played a mix of random covers and some traditional Irish songs.

The drinking competition was won by a very tall, very blonde Swede. He and his friends, who were the tallest people in the pub by MILES then stood right at the front so noone could see properly. Even this didn’t seem to upset anyone and much dancing, singing and jollity ensued.
I wasn’t drinking as I had school today (only wanting coke seemed to be a very difficult concept both for the bar staff, and for the people from school that I’d gone with!), but even so, staying out til 1 am in a sweaty pub has taken its toll – I must be getting old! I felt alright when I got up at 6 am, but by the time I’d done cafeteria duty at lunch time, in the blazing sun, I was feeling a little worse for wear! It didn’t help that I’d forgotten my sun lotion and sun glasses either. By the time I got home I was starting to feel hung over, which seemed a little unfair all things considered.

irish-2.jpg

However a plate of spaghetti bolognaise and a couple of episodes of Smallville later I’m feeling human again and thinking I probably ought to go to bed soon! Thankfully it’s a 3 day week due to living in a catholic country and it being Maunday Thursday and Good Friday. Tomorrow after school there is a ‘communidad’ event. All the staff at the school pay 0.4% of their wage into the communidad fund which then pays for refreshemtns in the staff room at break and various events throughout the year. Tomorrow it is a barbeque at the Lower school campus. Should be nice to relax for a bit after a hectic start to the term!

Leave a Reply

